SAMB: Who Let the Words Out

Image credit: “safe” – © 2007 Paul Keller – made available under Attribution 2.0 Generic

They say, if you write, then you are a writer. I would add if you think about writing, wish you could write, wonder if you will ever write again, sit down to write-get distracted and stop-but go back and start again, you are a writer.  At least that is what I tell myself in the blur that is being a full-time wife, mother, higher education administrator, friend, neighbor, do-gooder and avid watcher of The Voice.

I met someone new this week and during the foundational new person conversation topic of “How did you end up here?” I was reminded that I started this whole journey into higher education not knowing what the hell I was doing. I was the first person in my immediate family to go to college. I was only the second person in my entire extended family to go to college. There is a lot of talk about helping first-generation college students navigate the system but in my experience, being naive helped. I started off in the often feared major of “Undecided” but I did not know what I wanted to do and so that made the most sense to me and no one in my family objected.

I took classes that I liked, which happened to be pretty much anything offered in the English department. I liked those classes so much, I picked that as my major because it never occurred to me to take classes I did not like so that I could potentially “make more money” at some point in the future. A lot of people did ask if I was going to be a teacher, which I never understood because even as a first-gen college student I knew the difference between majoring in English and Education which meant, you know, being an educator, duh.

18 years later, I have not had an occasion to regret that decision. I am not one to lament that I have “done nothing” with my English degree. I am no Anne Lamott but I write everyday. The words in each personal or professional email, tweet, blog, facebook post, and even text are crafted in my voice.

That was a lot of words to say I love words and all aspects of communication (with the exception of talking on the phone, which I avoid at all costs). Of course it always seems as if I could be doing more but today let us be encouraged my fellow writers, it may not feel like it right now but I say that we  are all doing just fine. 

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

