I am not the exception

I like to think I am the exception, particularly to things that I do not like, but rarely is that true. It seems almost too obvious to say that often times  the more I dig my heels in that I am the exception, the less exceptional I actually am.

(I hate that I ended that sentence with “am” but I choose to let it go, don’t you judge me.)

I blame this particular track of self analysis on this article in Huffington Post called “23 Things Every Woman Should Stop Doing,” Articles with titles like that are generally in the category of things I choose not to read but it was 4 o’clock in the morning, I was feeding a baby and had some time to kill. I thought I’ll quick scroll through this an celebrate how I have achieved the status of a woman to whom lists such as that one do not apply.

Then I got to #6 “Feeling like an impostor when you accomplish something professionally” and thought well dagnabit, that IS me. This in itself is unfortunate but not the end of the world. What I do not like is it is that as a result of this mentality my ability to take risks, creatively solve problems, and care about other people is hindered because I do not want to be outed as an impostor BUT those are the traits that make me fantastically good I what I do. These are the mental gymnastics that fill my days.

Now that my conscience is cleared and I have confessed I am an average human being with issues of my own, I will go re-read my current manifesto on life, Brene Brown’s Daring Greatly.

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

