One Word 2013

acceptance

My word for this year is acceptance.

It starts to look really weird if you write it a lot.

One of my favorite examples of what acceptance can look like came from a book, UnMarketing by Scott Stratten. He says, “Don’t try to win over the haters, you’re not the jackass whisperer.” I’m happy to accept this.

But I didn’t find that by reading Scott’s book, I was reading a better book, Brene Brown’s Daring Greatly. Brene says so many amazingly insightful things that its hard to pick one but currently I’m looking at one of the many notations that I made in her book and it seems to fit well with my word of the year. I accept that “We can’t give people what we don’t have. Who we are matters immeasurably more than what we know or who we want to be.” I sense this will be core to my life particularly as I navigate parenting in the years to come.

Last year my word was vulnerability. This year acceptance. These are hard. Next year I’m hoping for something easy like sarcasm or snarky.

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Mindfulness, Personal Development. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

