SAMB: This is not a list

I like reading a end of the year/best of/top 10 lists as much as this next person but even though it’s New Year’s Eve and all the other kids are doing it, I’m not going to make a list today.

Today is about Sister Act 2: Back in the Habit. Sister Act 1 was good in it’s own right but movie 2 had the added bonus of introducing the vocal stylings of Lauren Hill. Although not technically a musical, it was centered around music and passion and creativity and nuns. In the midst of all that, Whoopi Goldberg’s character has a heart-to-heart with Lauren Hill’s character about following her desire to sing even though Lauren’s character lacks the confidence to do so. Interestingly, Whoopi’s character draws a parallel about singing from writing, and that is what caught my attention:

Sister Mary Clarence: I went to my mother who gave me this book… called Letters To A Young Poet. Rainer Maria Rilke. He’s a fabulous writer. A fellow used to write to him and say:
“I want to be a writer.
Please read my stuff.”
And Rilke says to this guy: “Don’t ask me about being a writer. lf, when you wake up in the morning you can think of nothing but writing…then you’re a writer.”

I saw that movie when it came out in 1993 and I still haven’t read Letters to a Young Poet but I hear this scene whenever I’m feeling insecure about writing.

Whoopi Goldberg, muse. Who knew?

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Personal Development, Thing I've Learned From Musicals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

