You can’t just throw it away

I originally wrote this post in April. For reasons that are unclear, I guess I never actually published it. Even now, when I walk past that spot in the parking lot, I picture this crumbled orange ticket.

This is a familiar sight on campus.

The glowing orange parking ticket envelope, crumpled and discarded.

As I walked passed this one my very first thought was that’s going to eventually be a problem.

Then I wondered, who cares? Clearly the person who parked illegally, was totally convinced that their parking needs superseded the established rules and polices of the parking lot. So, would that person really care about a lingering fine? I’m thinking no. They wouldn’t care, may not think about it ever again.

The thing is, out of sight is not out of mind. I mean out of your mind rule breaking, littering person but not out of the mind of the Office of Parking and Transportation. Their memory is long and unrelenting.

But I’m a rule follower, so maybe this is a mere difference of opinion.

I’m going to assume I’ve given this more thought that the person who mis-parked. But I can’t help of think of the consequences. And how it would have to be a significant situation for me to disregard clearly posted instructions.

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Stories that are Random, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

