SAMB: In the thick of it

Roughly sixteen weeks ago I remember feeling anxious about the start of the semester and completely unprepared to start teaching. It’s the usual start of the semester route. By mid-semester, I brought it like a teaching all-star who could assemble a lesson on learning strategies, study skills and academic best practices within  a matter of hours.

Admittedly, there was a time when I would reach for the Roadtrip Nation DVD on a day when I didn’t have a specific plan. Or if I’d plan far enough in advance, invite a guest to come in and address the subject.

Recently, I re-connected with a student who had taken my class as a freshman and as a Junior she told me how much she still uses what she learned. In addition, now she’s the one telling her friends about different resources around campus and how to do better academically.

To both of us I say, “Get it girl!”

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Career, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

