SAMB: Whole-hearted

A friend shared this TED Talk with me and it’s since become my mantra. It summarizes in 20 minutes what I’ve worked to learn and understand in years of counseling, participation in emotional health small groups and countless hours of conversations with friends.

Dr. Brene Brown is what you would call an expert on shame. And I don’t mean like she’s had so much shame in her life that she can speak on the topic. I mean that for years at a time she has continuously asked herself and others questions that explore the underpinnings of shame. She’s an academic, who totally speaks my language and she’s committed to presenting a perspective that is founded by what the research presents, even if she doesn’t like it. Interestingly, TED Talks offers Bono as a suggested speaker if you like the topic of this talk. Thanks TED, I believe I will.

You may not watch it today, you may not watch it tomorrow but there will be a time when these words are exactly what you need to hear. I know they were for me.

Click photo to play

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Mindfulness, Personal Development, SAMB and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SAMB: Whole-hearted

  1. Thank you very, very much. This was really good and sensible. I really like the fact that Dr. Brene Brown didn’t try to force her research, she followed it where it took her. Because of that she was able to be vulnerable in seeking her therapist and face new things. Because she did that all of us might be able to lead fuller, better and more real lives. Thanks. Keep Blogging, Keep Writing.

Leave a Reply

