Give Thanks: Birthdays

I thoroughly enjoy celebrating my birthday. Well, I mean having others celebrate me on my birthday. I’ve had lots of different celebrations for my birthday, mostly depending on how it falls in relation to Thanksgiving and the weather.

Today I woke up to bright beams of sunlight busting through the curtains. If I didn’t know better, I’d say it was no different than a sunny morning in June. But I know better.

Five years ago, for my 30th birthday, I’d planned a whole outing, dinner at Shakespeare’s, a night checking out the downtown Christmas situation. It was going to be great, that is until the town was buried 14 feet of Thundersnow. I couldn’t believe it. It was so irritated that the everything was shut down that I couldn’t even be overly excited about a day off work and a long weekend. The weather was rude. Just rude.

Back to today’s birthday. Sun is shining. I’ve gotten about 60 Facebook posts, texts, tweets, and emails already. Even a birthday phone call that included singing! And a birthday text of a hand drawn birthday note on a post-it and that is all before getting out of bed. (Again, I am thankful for the iPad.)

The day is off to a very grand start.

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Birthdays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Give Thanks: Birthdays

  1. Erick says:

    Happy Birthday. Now you should edit your post to include birthday blog comments as well.

Leave a Reply

