Give Thanks: The 1st Thanksgiving

There are so many firsts happening in my life today. I never imagined when I was little that I’d live somewhere not in my hometown. I never imagined having Thanksgiving anywhere but at my house, with my Granny in charge of the kitchen and me and my female relatives on standby to help. Then, I grew up and lots of things changed. I went to college, my Granny passed away and I became a lot more open to Thanksgiving looking different each year.

In the past, I’ve spent the day with friends, with my friends families, in town, out of town, never in a boat or on a moat or with a goat, but I wouldn’t be opposed. Just last year we were in Seattle and spent the day laying around watching Harry Potter movies and ate dinner at sunset  on a lake at a local restaurant. Today, I’m spending my first Thanksgiving in my first house.  I’m hosting my family most of whom will be here for the first time. When my mom suggested it last year, I honestly wasn’t sure they would want to travel here for a meal but apparently they’ll do anything at least once. In my family, the understood rule is that the host cooks, if you want someone to bring something, you’d better ask them, don’t assume. So I’ve been planning for 2 weeks and cooking for 3 days, and now it’s here.

I choose not to be stressed. I will manage my type A personality and try not to lose it when something doesn’t go exactly as planned. I will live in the moment and enjoy my time with these people who have known me since birth (or that I have known since their birth for the younger cousins). I will be thankful for all the undeserved blessings in my life. It’s an overwhelming amount and I often fall silent when I try to think of all the things I am thankful for which is a good way to manage the control-freak tendencies.

First order of business, cinnamon rolls and bacon.

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

