SAMB: Seasons*

I’m taking my morning coffee in the dining room today. It’s a new thing I’m trying out. We use the dining room for dining on occasion but since we don’t have a dedicated office space and the laptop or the iPad make it easy to set up shop wherever, it just doesn’t often occur to me to sit here when I’m not eating.

My birthday is 10 days away, and I’m used to cold, wet, even snowy weather on my birthday(my 30th birthday plans were usurped by a phenomenon called “thundershow”), today, it’s supposed to be in the 60s.  I am confused by this and although I have tried to appreciated the elongated late summer weather we have had this fall, I like seasons. I’ve started to feel some inner tension because what the calender says I should be preparing for like Thanksgiving, watching Christmas Vacation, my birthday and Christmas, don’t match the weather. The weather is saying put on some short pants, get outside, go ride a bike, take a walk. I don’t like it.

This is one of the first times I’ve thought I would not like to set up residence in a place like Southern California because I think I might actually need the seasonal change to function properly. I need for it to get colder or I will not make the metal transition well. Seasonal changes give me reason to reflect on what has past and what is ahead. I have had a crazy busy fall, admittedly I am happy for it to end but if fall doesn’t get it’s act together, I worry I wont be able to fully embrace winter. The cozy, fireplace lit winter that has come to be my favorite season in my house.

*I know I say all this now and regret it in May when it’s snowing at graduation.

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Family, SAMB and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

