Give Thanks: College

Neither of my parents went to college. It wasn’t until I was employed by an institution of higher education that I realized being a first-generation college student categorized me as high risk student. High risk meant statistically speaking, chances were high that I wouldn’t graduate from college.

Interesting note about labels is that if you don’t know you’re labeled, doomed to fail, you’ll be naive enough to succeed. That was my experience anyway.

I see students on a daily basis completely stressed out because they believe they have to get perfect grades, in the perfect major so that they can get the perfect job because that is what their family expects. My family was thrilled I was going to college. Never once did anyone question the long term ramifications of me going to college with no plan, or specific career path. I decided to major in English because I was happy taking English classes. I added Communication as a double major because I took a class and really liked that too. I did well academically because I really did like learning, relating to my instructors, being challenged to think critically and all that college stuff. Those were a great 4 (and 1/2) formative years that I am always thankful for.

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

