Things I’ve learned From Musicals

I treated myself to a Sunday matinee of the university Theatre department’s production of Into the Woods, one of my favorite musicals.

Because I don’t have any classy friends, I went alone. Ok, I do have classy friends, but just none that wanted to see that particular show with me. That’s a different story though.

So, because I’ve been into this musical since my high school production of it, I have the majority of the lyrics memorized. There are times when life lessons come to my in the lyrical manner in which they are sung in a musical. Into the Woods is full of them and this is one that has always stuck with me. From the viewpoint of Little Red Riding Hood’s perspective after her encounter with Mr. Wolf:

“Take extra care with strangers,
Even flowers have their dangers,
And though scary is exciting,
Nice is different than good.”

Yup, that’s what I woke up thinking about this morning.

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Thing I've Learned From Musicals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I’ve learned From Musicals

  1. DVD says:

    Good blogging this week.

  2. LJ says:

    Good lesson indeed.

Leave a Reply

