SAMB: There will be food

I grew up in a family of cooks. The bigger event, the more people who’d be cooking for it. I also grew up in a family of eaters. People happy to cook paired with people who also loved to eat. It always worked out well from that perspective.

A couple of weeks ago I offered to host a baby shower, so that the family could be showered in love and accept lots of gifts that will help their caring for the baby easier, but ultimately, I wanted to cook. It didn’t really hit me how much I like to feed the people until I started planning the menu. At that point, I became absolutely giddy. The majority of these are from Real Simple and they are in fact, real simple.

Baby shower brunch menu:

Simple Spinach Quiche

I like to start with this basic and super easy recipe , add onions, garlic, and sweet italian saugsage.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mushroom and Herb Strata

I think 1/2 cup parsley is way too much. Who needs all that? Or maybe I should cut it smaller and be more sneaky about that much being in there? Either way, that’s always negotiable for this recipe.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Easy Cinnamon Bread

I learned the hard way to not make this in a springform pan. Don’t know why it didn’t occur to me that the butter would melt down out of the pan. Trial by fire but I don’t make that mistake twice.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Easy Chocolate Croissants 

So easy it’s not even right.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Grilled Bread with Garlic and Tomato(no photo)

First time with this one but fingers crossed for no mishaps.

Marinated Mushrooms(no photo)

First time for this one also.

Artichoke and Olive Crostini

Another first time recipe. Maybe I should have put a note on the invite that the attenders would also be recipe testers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Caramelized Onion Dip & Veggie Chips 

This is so, so, so, good. Even better after sitting in the fridge overnight.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Parmesan-scallion Pastry Pinwheels

If you’re using puff pastry, you’re winning at life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

White & Chocolate Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting

I’ve only made these once before and it took 6 hours. Hopefully I’ll be more efficient the second time around.

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SAMB: There will be food

  1. penknifes says:

    nice 🙂

  2. Those cupcakes look amazing!

  3. Casey VanDyke says:

    When are you going to do all this? Do you need help on Saturday morning? I’m assumming that helpers an also be samplers…

Leave a Reply

