SAMB:Twist or Flip

12 August 2006. The day hubs and I jumped the broom.

13 August 2006. The day I found out I married a dude who prefers to flip the lid on the toothpaste cap.

There used to be a time when a flip-top toothpaste cap was not even an option and I liked it that way. I’ve been known to clean a toothpaste lid in my day, just because I could no longer take the gunking up. Of all the things we covered while dating and through our engagement and pre-marital classes and mentorship, never once did we discuss the proper dispensensing technique for toothpaste.

I’m just saying, someone could have mentioned that as a possible sticking point. What has neutralized the issue is the dual use cap. He flips. I twist. It’s the easiest marital compromise ever.

This is going to date me but I can’t help that music I listened to in college comes to mind when my life needs a soundtrack. Sheryl Crow was definitely a big deal in the mid 90’s. Before Cancer, before Lance Armstrong, but post Eric Clapton for sure, there was a song on her debut album I’d just put on repeat. The lyrics in the chous go like this:

No one said it would be easy.

No one said it’d be so hard.

No one said it would be easy.

No one thought we’d come this far.

Thankfully, toothpaste is in fact easy but I can’t help but think about those lyrics as a reminder of the bigger picture.  Not everything that I’ll encounter with the hubs will be that easy. And more often that not, we won’t get the option to both flip and twist.

I’m also hearing the chorus to “Please Don’t Go Girl” by New Kids On The Block (before they were NKOTB) in my head which also serves as a reminder that all song lyrics were not created equal.

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Stories that are Random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

