SAMB: Trying Something New

When the Apple iPad was announced, I mocked. I heckled. I razzed. Mostly the name but also the concept. Who would possible pay for an oversized iPod? And what would they do with it?

Fast forward to this past Tuesday when through a random series of events, I got my own iPad, completely paid for by my current job.

I don’t take back my words but do I give credit to Apple for proving me wrong. In just a few days, this newly created piece of technology has found a forever home with me (and by forever I mean as long as I am an active employee at my current job).

***

Watching Parenthood last week I was reminded about the college admission letter rules, big envelop meant accepted, small envelope meant denied. Last week I got the small envelope telling me I was not going be an emerging leader and encouraging me to apply again next year.

I’m a safe gambler. Typically I go for the sure thing, that way, I’m guaranteed a win. So I admit I was a little shocked and offended when they so easily passed on all that I have to offer.

Thank goodness I got and iPad this week to dull the pain of rejection. They don’t market as a coping tool but it’s working out for me.

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Career, Personal Development and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SAMB: Trying Something New

  1. Jenny says:

    My thoughts exactly DVD! Congrats on getting the long awaited iPAD. I’m ubber jealous! Looks like they’re missing out on a pretty awesome leader! I’m surprised too. But I guess you know what they say, “When one door closes another one opens…”

Leave a Reply

