Will I Emerge as a Leader?

After a couple of weeks of writing, editing, griping, procrastinating and fretting, I finally compiled all of the information required to apply to the National Academic Advisors Association’s Emerging Leader Program.  I haven’t had to write a personal statement since I applied for grad school back in the day and it’s still really hard to express what I’m about in 1 page or less, single-spaced, typed, 12 point font.  With the help of some friends, this is what I opened with. If you notice typos or grammatical errors, don’t tell me. I already found one and will try not to panic about that and hope the selection committee won’t notice.

In 2006, I attended my first National Academic Advisor Association annual conference in Indianapolis, Indiana with a colleague. I had recently began a new profession as an academic advisor and I thought attending the annual conference of the national association would be an excellent way to learn more about the standards of the profession.  Four years and three national conferences later, I grown even more passionate about advising – I have found my place in a life-long profession!  As I considered my involvement in the Emerging Leaders Program, I thought about my past, my present, and my future in advising and believe the program stimulates my growth and creativity for the years to come.

Best part is, I really meant it. I won’t know the results until mid April so now I wait. Or more likely totally forget about it until I hear back.

About nikirush

I'm still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.
This entry was posted in Career and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Will I Emerge as a Leader?

  1. Jenny says:

    They would be a fool not to accept you! Looks good. 🙂

  2. LJ says:

    What she said. Good luck, friend.

Leave a Reply

